Dear

For Mercy has a human heart;
Pity, a human face;
And Love, the human form divine:
And Peace the human dress.

-from The Divine Image by William Blake 

dear,
your slightly parted lips – I cannot see
their hues, but know they are not unlike
the Dame Edith Helen I once kissed,
roseate and velvety – only slightly parted,
promising a mellifluous voice to charm
us all: the amazement of a thought
sketched out thus and captured.

If I were that ear-ring, brushing
against your soft skin, heavens
couldn’t tempt me, but I am a mere
painter of words, sitting here,
wondering if you would tell me
what amused you so.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

My first post after my longest hiatus from the blog ever since its conception is something that has been in planning for a rather long time, a whole month in fact, but took so long because I was never satisfied with the poem I wrote to accompany the picture. No, I’m still not satisfied, I don’t believe it does justice to the subject of this picture, but my exams are over and I had to start somewhere. 🙂

My inbox tells me I missed some 500 odd posts from my fellow bloggers. I will try and read as many as possible over the course of the next few days. If I miss out anything, consider my sincere apologies in advance.

There are certain other things I want to talk about but those will have to wait for another post because I really am in a hurry to hit publish now.

Cheers,

Kriti free-bird Sharma

PS: Credit for this intriguing style of signing of goes to Amritorupa . Trust me, you want to visit her site. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Dear

    • Sorry about that. But hey, you showed them all. All those who asked ‘Cannes you do it?,’ you did it!

      And cool, thanks. 😀

  1. Whoa! who is this gaping beauty? how do you know her? she looks iranian, she just let you click her pic?
    your words express beautifully the sense of bafflement i feel when I see this photo. What is she about to say to me? Is she about to laugh at me? is it funny because I’m fat?
    Thank you for the link 🙂 in the last post I had forgotten i do that, and I had to go back and do it.and welcome back to the internet. it missed you.

    • This gaping beauty is a friend. I met her in college. She’s Indian, and yes, she did. Not only that, she was nice enough to give me permission to post it. Wonderful girl.

      Glad to be back. I missed you too. So much to write (and subsequently, post), so little time!

  2. Aw! this brought me to life . . .

    “If I were that ear-ring, brushing
    against your soft skin, heavens
    couldn’t tempt me, but I am a mere
    painter of words, sitting here,
    wondering if you would tell me
    what amused you so”

    nothing more or less, but, mere ‘life’.

  3. Love the last part of the poem. Couldn’t believe you wrote it, but then I know you’re getting better by the day! And yes, is this the post where Humans of Delhi is conceived?

    • Oh no no, Humans of Delhi is still a dream, not even in the planning stages, and knowing me, that will continue for long… unless, of course, I have a few more drinks than I can take and embark on a drunken expedition to shoot (with ze camera, of course) every soul I could find on the city’s roads. 🙂

      Oh, and the next time you face a dilemma wrt my writing, just go back to some of Kreation’s oldest posts. That should provide the necessary reality check.

      PS: I’m still awful. 😦

  4. Pingback: blogs i definitely read « I do it

Leave a Reply

